Whether you have a dog or not, you may soon receive a visit from a uniformed Deputy of the Buxton Police Department.
Having owned a legally licensed dog in the past is sufficient reason to get a resident placed on a list of possible dog license scofflaws. It is Buxton’s own “No Fly List” where you can be placed without reasonable suspicion. It is unclear who created this list and who made the decision to use a uniformed deputy police officer to confront residents regarding a $6.00 dog license.
Maine State Law requires that all dogs six months and older be licensed by January 31st of each calendar year. To license your dog you will need a valid Maine rabies certificate and altering certificate, if appropriate.
If you do not own a dog, you are not required to register that non-existent canine.
You can get the dog license in person at the Buxton Town Hall, by mail to the Town Hall, 185 Portland Road, Buxton, ME 04093 or online at www.doglicensing.com. If licensed online an additional fee of $1 is charged per dog license. Online licensing is available until midnight on January 31st.
Altered dog licenses are $6.00 and non-altered dog licenses are $11.00 each at the Town Hall, until February 1st. Any dog licensed after January 31st will be charged an additional $25.00 late fee per dog. If you receive a notice from the Buxton Animal Control Officer for an unlicensed dog there will be a second $25 fee added for the first violation, $50 for the second and $100 for the third violation within three years.
If you are summonsed to Court for an unlicensed dog the fees will increase again, exceeding $100 per dog. All dogs must wear their license tag at all times.